Posted in family life, phfr

{pretty, happy, funny, real} – in which some oddities of my family are revealed

Let me preface this week’s edition of {p,h,f,r} by telling you that all these pictures come from the same day, and that this day is not really that extraordinary of a day for us – I just happened to have my camera on hand for most of it. I feel like my goal is calm, ordered, semi-normal routines, but the reality of our family life is spontaneous, diverse, and weird. Or maybe it is just the things that fill in the routines that are strange… we still do have normal activities each day like naps and meals and baths 😛

{pretty}

On this particular day we visited the zoo for my nephew’s birthday. I am not a huge fan of large groups of people with small children trying to do the zoo together, but it worked out alright and we were able to go at the kids’ pace. We saw the flamingos and the monkeys and got to go inside the aviary, which are all highlights for my boys. One thing I love about the zoo is getting to see the incredible beauty and diversity of the animal kingdom!

IMG_3966
Their eyes are a bit unnerving, but I love the graceful curve of their necks and the soft overlay of their feathers.

{happy}

Another nice aspect of our local zoo is that it has a small splash pad just right for smaller kids – it is a great way to unwind and cool off before heading home, especially when the weather is warmer. Limerick was already past his nap time but the water (and birthday cake) gave us an extra 30-45 minutes with the extended family.

IMG_3992
Rondel hung back at first but about 10 minutes later he was down to his diaper, running and dancing and laughing in the water.
IMG_4026
Limerick ran right at the camera with his signature goofy grin 🙂

{funny}

After nap we had a pretty relaxed afternoon, reading books, playing at home, etc., and while I was making dinner I left the kids to their own devices.

IMG_4040Maybe that wasn’t the wisest idea.

IMG_4036

But it was certainly amusing! And we don’t use the dishwasher, so I didn’t really mind the boys playing with the rack. Later that evening I found a pile of random objects behind the office door and Rondel informed me that they had been recycled by his stuffed monkeys, who carried them there in their dump truck (the dishwasher rack).

IMG_4052

Could there be a more random assortment of items?

{real}

This was part of dinner cooking in its early stages – baby gold potatoes cooked in chicken broth. Everything was going well and then I got distracted by the kids’ creativity and hilarity and came running back to the kitchen to discover all the broth evaporated (which was supposed to happen) and the potatoes all sticking to the skillet (which was not supposed to happen). Sigh. They still tasted good though! In my dream house, the kitchen wouldn’t be a little closet of a room disconnected from everything else…

IMG_4043

There would also be better lighting for indoor picture-taking, I think. You know, if we’re dreaming here 🙂 One of the drawbacks of a town home is that there aren’t many available walls for windows!

Head on over to the link up at Like Mother, Like Daughter and check out some of the other blogs! It’s always fun to see the craziness that goes on in other people’s families, to know we’re not the only ones 🙂

3 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real} – in which some oddities of my family are revealed

  1. Funny children pictures are great! What a clever use of the dishwasher. We lived in a townhouse that backed to another townhouse and we were in the middle of a row of four, so our house had windows only on the front side. That was the only time in my life that all the windows were ever cleaned on a twice a month basis. We had maybe 10 windows total. It was great in that respect at least!

    1. We at least have windows on two sides, but we only have about 5 windows and the ones in the main part of the house are east-facing so it gets quite dark in the afternoon. In the morning it’s very nice though 🙂 And I still forget to clean those windows regularly! You were on top of things!

  2. I don’t get any natural light in my kitchen, either – it’s high on my wish list for our next house!
    I love the dishwasher rack-laundry game – so cute!

Leave a Reply

